LET THE LIGHT BE YOUR GUIDE: 4-Part Series

$99.00

Find and Capture the Best Light using forecast data from windy.com and the windy app.  Go beyond simple weather graphics and plain language forecasts.  Photographers can now make forecasts for their own needs.  Learn to time your shoots to capture the most dramatic and colorful light.

WHEN:  Nov. 17, Nov. 24, Dec. 1 & Dec. 8, 2020
3:00 pm PST | 4:00 pm MST/Arizona | 5:00 pm CST | 6:00 pm EST

Includes recording

Webinar by: Michael DeYoung
Webinar Date: November 17, 2020
Start Time: 4:00 pm - MST
Registration deadline: November 16, 2020

WHEN:  Nov. 17, Nov. 24, Dec. 1 & Dec. 8, 2020
3:00 pm PST | 4:00 pm MST/Arizona | 5:00 pm CST | 6:00 pm EST

 

REQUIREMENTS:

  • Use of the Zoom Platform
  • Windy.com app downloaded to your computer or tablet

 

Join meteorologist and nature photographer Michael DeYoung for this interactive 4-part series on learning how to forecast when your photography shoot will have the best lighting conditions.  During this series, you will download the Windy.com app, set up the proper preferences, and practice using this tool to predict shooting conditions in your local area.  Each session will last 45 minutes with 15 minutes of Q&A.

 

Session 1:  Intro to windy:  Understanding what Windy is, its capabilities, and its limitations.   Moving beyond oversimplified weather graphics.   Setting up your preferences and defining what’s most useful on Windy for forecasting dramatic light and photogenic clouds.   Understanding graphical cloud forecasts-your best tool from windy.  The explanation of the model used along with its strengths and weaknesses.
Session 2:  Basic meteorology helpful for photography.  Fair weather cloud ID.  Explanation of states of sky and ceiling.  Using Windy to forecast favorable conditions for colorful sunrise and sunset clouds.  Using FAA webcams and real-time observations for forecast verification.  Live analysis and predictions for the next few days.  The importance of cloud proximity for better sunrise or sunset color predictions.   Explanation of assignments.
Session 3:  Sharing of images of cloud ID.  Discussion of precipitation and storm producing clouds.  Identify transitions in weather patterns and when they might lead to dramatic light.  Live analysis and prediction for the next few days.
Session 4:   Getting forecasts for remote locations.  Understanding Meteograms and how they differ from graphical forecasts.  Comparing models to make the best determination of accuracy.  Discussion and critique of predictions from last sessions and voluntary image sharing.